How to Nominate a Book for the 2018 Christianity Today Book Awards

Instructions for publishers.

Each year, Christianity Today honors outstanding books of special interest to the Christian community. In the January/February 2018 issue, CT will feature the best books published between November 1, 2016 and October 31, 2017, divided into categories according to subject and genre. We will also announce the winner of our "Beautiful Orthodoxy" Book of the Year. Here are the awards categories:

  1. Apologetics/Evangelism
  2. Biblical Studies
  3. Children & Youth*
  4. Christian Living/Discipleship
  5. The Church/Pastoral Leadership
  6. Culture and the Arts
  7. Fiction
  8. History/Biography
  9. Missions/The Global Church
  10. Politics and Public Life
  11. Spiritual Formation
  12. Theology/Ethics
  13. CT Women**
  14. CT’s “Beautiful Orthodoxy” Book of the Year***

*Children & Youth is a new category this year. The category includes books geared toward younger children, middle grades, and young adults (with the exception of curriculum materials).

**Learn more about CT Women at

***Beautiful Orthodoxy is the core philosophy guiding CT’s ministry. It describes a mission, across all our publications, to proclaim the truth, beauty, and goodness of the gospel in a gracious, non-antagonistic tone. Learn more about the cause of Beautiful Orthodoxy from CT editor Mark Galli, in this essay and this interview. The winner of CT's Beautiful Orthodoxy Book of the Year will be featured prominently in the January/February 2018 issue.

CT Women and Beautiful Orthodoxy are special add-on categories. Books nominated in these categories must have first been nominated in one of the other main categories. (They will be eligible to win more than once.) The add-on fee is $15 for either Her.meneutics or Beautiful Orthodoxy, or $30 for both.

Continue reading

Leave a Reply